Tuesday, 20 January 2015

Four Chain of Command rules you might be getting wrong

Played CoC last night at the club (report to follow tomorrow): I was distinctly amused to realise how much more of the rules I know properly now, by the simple act of typing them into a quick reference sheet.

With that in mind, here are four Chain of Command rules we used to get embarrassingly wrong:
  • Deployment (4.3.1): on a one, you may only deploy an independent team, not a fire team that's part of a section (unless it's a Scout team). This is different from activation.
  • Removing Shock (4.5.3): you may only remove Shock from a team your leader is not attached to if it's not in LOS of an enemy unit.
  • Overwatch (4.5.2): Overwatch:
    • is an activation (no moving and then going on Overwatch!);
    • is something you do to a team, not a section.
  • At the Double (7.1): it's one Shock per team, not per section.
[N.B. CoC QRS now at v1.2, some minor typos fixed and a small change to the 'Useful References' table]

14 comments:

  1. I only picked up on the deployment one last week.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Yep, been doing them all wrong.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. We've corrected these about a year ago, but we did have them wrong before ;)

      Delete
  3. Interesting, I have probably played 10-12 games now and missed the "on the double" shock per team as well as the LOS rule re unattached leaders.

    Fantastic QRS.

    Many thanks,

    John

    ReplyDelete
  4. Great QRS, thanks for doing it.
    You can place a section on overwatch but it will cost 2 CIs to do it for most sections. Important if you are a Soviet player.
    John

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Well yes - that's 'cause in most cases you're putting two teams on overwatch, not one section :D Yes, the Russians are the odd exception.

      And thanks for the compliment.

      Delete
  5. Happy to say that these four rules I already knew (although I keep forgetting the last one and only add a shock to the full section when moving at the doubke). I'm sire there's a lot more that I keep doing worng

    ReplyDelete
  6. It's odd, I like CoC far better than other rulesets I've tried, but the writing isn't always as clear as it might be. Certainly it wouldn't do for a rules-lawyering tournament-style player. (That may be a good thing.)

    ReplyDelete
  7. The Leader removing shock only when out of LOS of the enemy is a great mechanic.

    I have this vision of a squad coming under MG fire in a field and going to ground, and then an officer 100 yards behind them in the treeline urging them on. At which point the soldiers look at each other and decide not to hear him as bullets whizz past their ears...

    ReplyDelete
  8. I'm pretty sure I'd missed all of these!

    ReplyDelete
  9. I must be playing like a boss then....
    Although I am sure there are loads of other rules I am getting wrong :)

    ReplyDelete
  10. Thanks Mike for that, always good to be reminded of things we may tend to forget.

    ReplyDelete

Views and opinions expressed here are those of the commenter, not mine. I reserve the right to delete comments if I consider them unacceptable.

If you don't have a Google account, but do have a Yahoo! or LiveJournal account, read this post, which will explain how you can comment using that ID.

Comments on posts older than 7 days will go into a moderation queue.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...